国际竹藤组织

国际竹藤组织

竹子可作为烟草替代品

肯尼亚

2006
2013

资助方

竹子可以作为肯尼亚南尼亚萨地区烟草种植者的替代作物和生活来源

“自从开始种竹子,我的生活就变了:我现在几乎可以负担得起我一直想要的一切。”——58岁的托马斯·马希里 。

尽管全世界都制定了削减烟草生产和消费的政策,但有些地区从事烟草种植的农民人数仍在以惊人的速度增长。对于这些地区来说,烟草被视为唯一的经济作物,没有其它替代品。

这就是肯尼亚东南大学、马塞诺大学和国际竹藤组织引领的倡议背后的推动力。该项目于2006年至2013年实施,旨在将竹子作为肯尼亚四个地区的替代作物和生活来源。小烟农是该项目的主要受益者。

该项目有几个组成部分,旨在提高农民从烟草种植转向竹子种植的能力。这包括向120名农民提供竹苗,建立竹子苗圃,向农民提供培训和资料,帮助他们收割、储存和处理竹子以及制作竹手工艺品等。

该项目从2006年持续到2013年,产生了非常显著的影响:

  • 竹子对大多数农民的生计产生了积极影响,当地超过75%的家庭都受益。“这一改善归功于对竹产业投资带来的货币和非货币收益。”
  • 75%的农民在项目期间放弃了烟草种植。
  • 农民利用竹子还有其它好处。在一个项目实施地,95%的家庭用竹子建造房屋和围栏以及制作手工艺品和家具。此外,因为种植了竹子,所有项目实施地的水土流失现象都有所缓解。
  • 育竹苗是农民收入的主要形式,其次是竹制品,然后是竹竿。随着竹子的成熟以及家具和手工艺品等价值更高的产品进入市场,情况在未来几年还会发生变化。

总的来说,该项目“在为执行《世界卫生组织烟草控制框架公约》第17条和第18条提供技术咨询和支持方面显示出巨大的潜力” 。

Bamboo as an alternative to tobacco

MENU

Bamboo as an alternative to tobacco

Kenya

2006
2013

Bamboo production as an alternative crop and livelihood strategy for tobacco smallholder farmers in South Nyanza, Kenya

“Since I started growing bamboo, my life has taken a different direction: I can now afford almost everything I have always wished to have.” – Thomas Mahiri, 58

Despite global policies aimed at reducing world tobacco production and use, the number of farmers engaged in tobacco farming in some parts of the world is increasing at an alarming rate. For many communities, tobacco is regarded as the only viable cash crop and there are few viable alternatives.

This was the impetus behind a South Eastern Kenya University, Maseno University, and INBAR-led project, Bamboo production as an alternative crop and livelihood strategy for tobacco smallholder farmers in South Nyanza, Kenya. The project, which took place between 2006 and 2013, aimed to establish bamboo as an alternative crop and form of livelihood across four sites in Kenya. Smallholder tobacco farmers were the main beneficiaries of this project.

This project had several components, aimed at increasing farmers’ capacity to switch from tobacco to bamboo farming. This included providing 120 farmers with bamboo seedlings; establishing nurseries for bamboo plants; and providing capacity training and materials to farmers to help with bamboo harvesting, preservation and treatment, as well as the creation of bamboo products such as handicrafts.

The project ran from 2006 to 2013, and resulted in some remarkable impacts:

– Bamboo had made a positive impact on most farmers’ livelihoods – over 75 per cent households in all sites. “This improvement was attributed to both the monetary and non-monetary benefits accrued from bamboo investment.”

– 75 per cent of farmers abandoned tobacco farming over the course of the project.

– Farmers were making use of bamboo’s other benefits. In one project site, 95 per cent of households were using bamboo to construct houses and fencing as well as handicrafts and furniture. In addition, all project sites saw a decrease in soil erosion due to bamboo planting.

– Seedlings were the main form of income for farmers, followed by bamboo products and then bamboo poles. This is likely to change over following years, as bamboo plants mature and higher value products such as furniture and handicrafts reach the market.

Overall, this project has “demonstrated great potential in providing technical advice and support to the implementation of Articles 17 and 18 of WHO-FCTC.”

The end-of-project report Bamboo production as an alternative crop and livelihood strategy for tobacco smallholder farmers in South Nyanza, Kenya can be read here. The report can be cited as: Fu, J. 2013. ‘Bamboo production as an alternative crop and livelihood strategy for tobacco smallholder farmers in South Nyanza, Kenya: Phase II’. INBAR Technical Report. INBAR, Kenya.

Project partners

Donors