International Bamboo and Rattan Organisation

International Bamboo and Rattan Organisation

INBAR welcomes Dr. Hans Friederich as Director General

31 Dec 2013


From left, outgoing DG Dr. Coosje Hoogendoorn, new INBAR Board of Trustees Chair Dr. Maharaj Muthoo, and new Director General Dr. Hans Friedrich.

INBAR is pleased to welcome its new Director General, Dr. Hans Friederich, as he takes the helm of INBAR in 2014.
With experience in Botswana, Kenya, Vietnam and Thailand, the Dutch-born geographer brings a unique skill set and background well-suited for INBAR’s global mission.

Most recently, Dr. Friederich served from 2009-2013 as the Pan-European Regional Director of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), a global environmental organization based in Switzerland with more than 1,200 member organizations.  As Pan-European Regional Director, Dr. Friederich oversaw operations in Europe, the Russian Federation and Central Asia, which included the direction of the IUCN Representative Office to the European Union in Brussels.  Prior to this, he was in charge of the global fundraising unit of IUCN, and coordinated the relations with the organisations main donors and strategic partners.

Before returning to Europe in 2004, Dr. Friederich served in a number of other capacities at IUCN, beginning in 1989 in the Eastern Africa Regional Office in Nairobi, Kenya.  He left Africa in 1994 to work as Senior Technical Advisor for the Ministry of Science and Technology in Vietnam, where he stayed until 1999, when he moved to Bangkok, Thailand.  Before he left Vietnam, Dr. Friederich became the first foreigner to be decorated with the Medal for Science and Technology.  During his time in Bangkok, Dr. Friederich was the Chief Technical Advisor of a UNDP Mekong Wetlands Conservation and Management Programme, and he provided oversight over the IUCN Programme in China.

Dr. Friederich earned his PhD in groundwater hydrochemistry from the University of Bristol, UK.  He takes over from Dr. Coosje Hoogendoorn, whose second four-year term ended in December 2013.