国际竹藤组织

国际竹藤组织

南南合作知识传播战略

埃塞俄比亚, 马达加斯加, 坦桑尼亚

2014
2018

资助方

南南合作知识传播战略:利用竹子谋生、创收和环境管理从而推动非洲扶贫

  •         对于非洲东部和南部数百万条件恶劣的人来说,竹子在扶贫、环境保护和实现可持续发展目标方面具有巨大的潜力。竹子可以很容易地融入农业,包括在荒地、退化土地和宅基地种植等方面,或作为小农户的经济作物种植。

    2010-2013年,国际竹藤组织成功实施了国际农业发展基金资助的项目,将扶贫和发展生计纳入重点计划,并在非洲东部和南部利用竹子解决环境退化问题。该项目旨在发展生计和增加收入来源,同时也减少了乱砍滥伐和水土流失,并有助于环境的可持续发展。

    南南合作知识传播战略旨在巩固和扩大这一举措之后的投资成果,该项目将竹子作为整个价值链(从种植到加工再到分销)的主要收入来源。通过对当地环境、市场以及三个受益国的利益相关者现有关系的梳理,从而进行知识的传播。

    该项目在四个方面取得了成功,即:

    o环境管理:到项目结束,共生产了50多万种种植材料,通过种植竹子恢复了300多公顷退化土地或有被破坏风险的流域和河岸。

    o竹子种植体系发展:培训了5000多个能够种植和管理竹子的农村家庭。

    o家庭能源生产:数千名家庭代表,其中大多数是妇女,接受了生产竹炭的培训,这些竹炭多用于制作燃料或出售。

    o生活来源多样化:建立了7个社区生产和培训中心(项目目标是2个)。通过帮助失业青年与企业建立联系培训了1000多名青年,他们生产或销售市场上需要的产品,使市场多样化。

    你可以下载更多关于这个项目的信息,包括阿姆哈拉语、法语、马达加斯加语和斯瓦希里语的海报。

    (图为:一名马达加斯加妇女在竹子种植课上)

International Bamboo and Rattan Organisation

International Bamboo and Rattan Organisation

South-South Knowledge Transfer Strategies

Tanzania, Ethiopia, Madagascar

2014
2018

SOUTH-SOUTH KNOWLEDGE TRANSFER STRATEGIES for scaling up pro-poor bamboo livelihoods, income generation, and environmental management in Africa

For millions of disadvantaged people in Eastern and Southern Africa, bamboo has huge potential to contribute to poverty alleviation, environmental protection and achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals. Bamboo can be easily integrated into agriculture – including wastelands, degraded lands and in homesteads – or farmed as the main cash crop by smallholders.

During 2010-2013, INBAR successfully implemented the IFAD-funded project, Mainstreaming Pro-Poor Livelihoods and Addressing Environmental Degradation with Bamboo in Eastern and Southern Africa. The project aimed at developing livelihood and income generation options which also reduced deforestation and soil erosion, and contributed to environmental sustainability.

South-South Knowledge Transfer Strategies aims to consolidate and build on the investments made through this initiative. The project will mainstream bamboo as a source of income along the entire value chain, from growing to processing to distribution. It will be informed by our improved understanding of local contexts and markets and our existing relationships with local stakeholders in the three beneficiary countries.

The project has seen successes in all four of its project components, namely:

  • Environmental management: By the end of this project, over 500,000 planting materials were produced, and more than 300 hectares of degraded land or at-risk watersheds and riverbanks was restored by planting bamboo.
  • Bamboo farming system development: More than 5000 rural households were trained to plant and manage bamboo.
  • Household energy production: Thousands of household representatives, most of them women, were trained to produce bamboo charcoal briquettes for use as fuel and to sell.
  • Livelihoods diversification: Seven community production and training centres were produced (against a project target of two) to diversify markets, by linking with unemployed youth to establish business entreprises and train more than 1000 young people in the production or sale of market-driven products.

 

You can download more information about the project, including posters in Amharic, French, Malagasy and Swahili, below.

(Pictured: A Malagasy woman on a bamboo planting course)

Project partners

Donors